Guthrie Public Schools announce their District Teacher of the Year

Guthrie Public Schools announce their District Teacher of the Year

Inside a packed board room inside the Administration Building for Guthrie Public Schools, the district announced their elementary, secondary and district teachers of the year.


A total of 14 teachers were recognized and honored for being selected as site teachers of the year, including Jay Benson, Brenda Brandon, Mechelle Helmberger, Jenea Midgett, Trier Davenport, Debbie Longnecker, Theresa Weir, Stacie Hoskins, Blair Workman, Mandy Rife, Angie Simonton, Lori Lucas, Kim Barrett and Monetta Fields.

Video of the presentation follows this article.

Superintendent Dr. Mike Simpson shared his appreciation for the community and businesses who once again rallied behind the celebration of the district with gifts for the winners.

“This has grown by leaps and bounds,” Simpson said.

Executive Director Carmen Walters announced Mechelle Helmberger as the Elementary Teacher of the Year. Helmberger is a first grade teacher at Central Elementary.

Afterwards, Executive Director Doug Ogle presented Blair Workman as the Secondary Teacher of the Year. Workman is an English Language Arts teacher at Guthrie Junior High.

With their selections, Helmberger and Workman were finalists for the district teacher of the year. With the final announcement, Simpson announced Helmberger as the District Teacher of the Year.


Leave a Reply