Candidate filing comes to an end; June 26 primary election is next

Candidate filing comes to an end; June 26 primary election is next

Updated on April 13, 2018 – Complete list of candidates who have filed.


Logan County Commissioner District 1 – Republican

Marven Goodman
Mark Sharpton
Dan Simmons

Logan County Commissioner District 3


John R. Myers
Monty Piearcy

Logan County Assessor


Judy Dorman
Tisha Hampton

Logan County Treasurer


Sherri Longnecker

Logan and Payne County District Attorney


Cory Williams


Laura Austin-Thomas
Jill Ochs-Tontz

Logan County Associate District Judge

Louis Duel

District Judge

Phillip Corley

State Senator District 20


Heady Coleman
Donald Russell


Chuck Hall
Aiya Kelley

State Representative District 31


Angela Moffitt-Jones
Kara Sawyer


Rod Baker
Garry Mize
Barry Niles

State Representative District 38


Brian Hobbs
Casey McAninch
John Pfeiffer

Updated on April 13, 2018 — Friday was the final day for candidates to file for office. A total of five candidates filed for county positions on the final day, including a candidate for district attorney, one for House of Representatives, two for county commissioner and one for county assessor.

Angela Moffitt-Jones, of Guthrie, filed as a Democrat for District 31 State Representative.

Judy Dorman, a Republican, and former Logan County Deputy Assessor will challenge for county assessor.

Mark Sharpton (R) will look to get back into office after filing for District 1 Commissioner.

John R. Myers (R) will challenge for District 3 Commissioner

Filing for district attorney for Logan and Payne County was Democrat Cory Williams, who currently serves in the House of Representatives.

Updated on April 12, 2018 — Three more candidates filed their paper work for upcoming elections.

In the race for House of Representatives District 31, Garry Mize (Republican), of Edmond, filed Thursday morning.

Locally, Logan County Treasurer Sherri Longnecker (Republican) will seek re-election.

Dan Simmons filed for Logan County Commissioner District 1.

Filing continues Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Logan County Election Board office. Candidates filing for state, federal and nonpartisan judicial offices is scheduled for the same time at the State Capitol.

Original article on April 11, 2018

Day one of three officially came to an end on Wednesday for candidates to declare themselves for the upcoming elections. Filing continues Thursday and Friday at local election boards and at the State Capitol.

County voters will elect an assessor, treasurer and district 1 and 3 commissioners in 2018.

The three candidates who filed in Logan County were all incumbents, including county commissioners Marven Goodman (Republican) and Monty Piearcy (Republican) and County Assessor Tisha Hampton (Republican).

Goodman currently serves District 1 and Piearcy serves District 3.

The House of Representatives District 31 seat will see a new face with Jason Murphey being term-limited after 12 years. Filing for the seat was Democrat Kara Sawyer, of Guthrie, and Republicans Barry Niles, of Guthrie, and Rod Baker, of Edmond.

With the recent announcement from Senator AJ Griffin, who said she was not seeking reelection for Senate seat 20, four candidates filed for the position, including Republicans Aiya Kelley, of Guthrie, and Chuck Hall, of Perry. Two Democrats declared, including Heady Coleman, of Guthrie, and Donald Russell, of Hennesey.

For Logan and Payne County district attorney (District 9) incumbent Laura Austin Thomas, of Stillwater, and Jill Ochs-Tontz, of Guthrie, both made it official.

For Logan County Associate District Judge, Louis Duel, of Guthrie, was the lone candidate to file.

Filing for District Judge (District 9, Office 1) was Phillip Corley, of Stillwater.

Six Republicans filed for governor, including former Oklahoma City Mayor Mick Cornett, Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb, Tulsa attorney Gary Richardson and abortion “abolitionist” Dan Fisher.

Democrat Connie Johnson and Libertarians Chris Powell and Joe Exotic also submitting their paperwork for the state’s highest office.

Filing continues Thursday and Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Logan County Election Board office. The candidate filing period for state, federal and nonpartisan judicial offices is scheduled for the same time at the State Capitol.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.