Senator Griffin named Outstanding Legislator by OSDH

Sen. A.J. Griffin (center) is pictured with Health and Human Services Secretary Steve Buck (right) and Interim Commissioner of Health Tom Bates (left).

Senator Griffin named Outstanding Legislator by OSDH

The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) recognized six outstanding leaders in child abuse prevention during a ceremony Tuesday at the State Capitol. Individuals and organizations were honored for their efforts, which demonstrated significant and outstanding commitment and dedication to child abuse prevention.


Senator A.J. Griffin has advocated for youth both in the private sector and during her tenure as a state senator. Since taking office in 2012, she has held leadership positions that have resulted in a number of family-friendly bills and laws. She is recognized as a state expert on child abuse and is an advocate for improving public policies that benefit children. She has authored legislation supporting children who have aged out of the foster care system, protecting children from sex offenders, reducing recidivism among youthful offenders, and recent legislation that would create a task force on trauma-informed care for children and youth.

The award recipients are listed below:

Senator A.J. Griffin – Outstanding Legislator Award

Patty DeMoraes-Huffine – Mary Ellen Wilson Award

Oklahoma CLICK for Babies Campaign/Period of Purple Crying Program – Outstanding Child Abuse Prevention Program

Denise Howard – Julie L. Bonner Nurse Award

Melissa Griffin – Marion Jacewitz Award

Jo Houston – Outstanding Home Visitor Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.