On April 28 in 1889, the first Sunday following Guthrie’s historic Land Rush, under a tent near its present day location, early pioneers gathered together to sing songs of praise, offer prayers and listened to inspiring words. One hundred and thirty years later (April 28, 2019) Guthrie’s First United Methodist Church will celebrate their history and ignite the start of another 130 years.
The celebration will begin with a Service of Celebration and Remembrance (10:30 a.m.) in their worship center followed by a rededication and ignoration of the next 130 years with an “Ignite Party” in the parking lot.
The community is invited as there will be bounce houses, home-made ice cream, balloons and food trucks, live entertainment and other activities.
On that April, 28, 1889 day, Rev E.F. Hill presided over the first worship service. Music was led by a band and singer from a newly established saloon, and services were held under a tent.
The current building was dedicated on March 6, 1910. The current structure with its hand painted art glass windows and unique design is part of the Capitol Townsite Historic District of Guthrie, is recognized by the Oklahoma State Office of Historic Preservation and the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
The architectural design is rather distinct and unique, with only a few church’s with design remaining in the United States. The design included many state of the art features for its day and provides both an elegant and inspiring place for prayer, worship and music.