Ewy named 2024 Guthrie Public Schools District Teacher of the Year

Superintendent Dr. Mike Simpson stands with Jo Ewy who was named the District Teacher of the Year at the February Board of Education meeting.

Despite Jo Ewy liking Oklahoma State University, one of her students jokingly stated, but said she still enjoys being in her classroom. Earlier this month, Ewy was named the 2023-2024 Guthrie Public Schools Teacher of the Year.

Ewy, a reading and math interventionist at Charter Oak Elementary School, was first named the Teacher of the Year for Charter Oak, and later named the Elementary Teacher of the Year for the district, before being recognized for the district honor.

“Mrs. Ewy is a remarkable teacher that has a large background and knowledge with current research-based base strategies that she uses in her class,” Charter Oak Principal Emily Carpenter said.

Ewy now in her fifth year previously taught at Guthrie Upper Elementary School.

“I work with an entire building of people who are more incredible than I am and they lift me up everyday,” Ewy said at the February board meeting in the high school cafeteria.

Her principal shared that Ewy’s students want to learn for her.

“She outmeets all the others with her charismatic ways and witty humor. She is a really fun person to work with every day but also staying engaged with kids,” Carpenter added.

Ewy says she is rewarded when her students learn.

“It’s hard sometimes to truly know what they know and just to know in the moment sometimes, but I think the real success is when they get that confidence and they can do it on their own and they want to show me,” Ewy said.

Upper Elementary’s Sarah Schlueter was named the school district’s Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Site Teachers of the Year, include Cynthia Hedge (Central Elementary), Denise Raney (Cotteral Elementary, Jo Ewy (Charter Oak Elementary) JJ Mcknight (Fogarty Elementary), Sarah Schlueter (Upper Elementary), Chris Raney (Junior High), Kyle Brede (High School), and Megan Hutchison (High School).

Each teacher was recognized with gifts and awards throughout businesses in Guthrie.

“It’s truly humbling the support that we have in our community for education,” Dr. Mike Simpson said before announcing the district teacher of the year.


Be the first to comment on "Ewy named 2024 Guthrie Public Schools District Teacher of the Year"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.