Bauman, McHand and Pearson take primary election

Bookmark and Share


As expected, the Logan County primary election for the Sheriff’s race came down to a matter of votes for both the Republicans and Democrats.

Sheriff Jim Bauman will seek his second term in November.

Republican Sheriff Jim Bauman will face Democrat Ben McHand in the November general election.

Bauman collected 1,779 votes, or 53.23 percent while former sheriff Randy Richardson collected 1,563 votes, or 46.77 percent.

McHand edged out Cheryl Belk by 45 votes. McHand gathered 483 votes, or 52.44 percent while Belk piled up 438 votes, or 47.56 percent.

216 votes was the difference in the Republican race and 45 votes separated the Democrats.

Results are not official until certified by either by the State Election Board or the Logan County Election Board.

“I expected it (results) to be close and expected him (Richardson) to take the city of Guthrie and we would do the surrounding out lying areas,” Bauman said at his watch party.

“We have made a lot of progress in the first four years and we want to progress further,” Bauman further explained.

Much like Bauman, Richardson said he expected a close race as well.

“It was close and knew it was going to be tight. It was a tough race,” Richardson said from his watch party. “Congratulations to him. He won it.”

Richardson, whom was defeated by Bauman in the last general election, served as the county sheriff from 2001 to 2008.

“Everybody that helped me out worked very hard,” Richardson said. “From knocking on doors to putting up signs to standing in the heat today. I just want to thank everybody that voted for me and helped me out during the campaign.”

Bauman says he will now pick up his signs and get ready for the next step in the process.

“We are starting all over. We are going to strategize and get ready for November.”

The general election is Nov. 6.

County Commissioner District 2

Incumbent Mike Pearson collected two-thirds of the 1,280 votes to win by a comfortable margin for the Republican County Commissioner District No. 2 race.

Pearson drew 846 votes, or 66.09 percent while former county commissioner Kevin Leach managed 325 votes, or 25.39 percent. Michael Albright finished third in the race with 109 votes, or 8.52 percent.

Leach served as the county commissioner from 2005 to 2009 while Pearson has held the position since that time. Albright will be looking for his first term.

Zmek and Cole unopposed

Two Logan County incumbents will run unopposed for the election cycle — ReJeania Zmek (R- Guthrie) filed for County Court Clerk and Troy Cole (R-Guthrie) filed for County Clerk.

State races

In the four state races, Logan County voters elected the eventual winner.

Bob Anthony won the Republican Corporate Commission election over Brooks Mitchell. Anthony, the incumbent, took 66.39 percent of the county vote and the 64.84 percent to win the primary.

Incumbent U.S. Representative District 3 Frank Lucas had no problems by collecting 87.84 percent of Logan County votes and 88.16 percent of the state’s vote to defeat William Stump.

Democrats Timothy Murray and Keith Kinnamon each came away with wins. Murray needed 57.02 percent of the county votes and 52.48 percent of the states to defeat Frankie Robbins.

Kinnamon received 64.91 percent from Logan County and overall a 69.30 percent to defeat Gene Imel for the State Representative District 32 race.

Be the first to comment on "Bauman, McHand and Pearson take primary election"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.