Brothers named Player of the Year in 5A-1

Bookmark and Share

The head football coaches of Class 5A, District 1 announced their all district team and the list was highlighted by Player and Coach of the Year being from Guthrie.

Kentrell Brothers was named the Player of the Year in the district and will be announced as All City Defensive Player of the Year as well as the state’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Kye Staley was the last BlueJay to be named the All District Player of the Year in 2007.

The Jays won the district title for the second time in four seasons and finished their season 11-2 with another appearance in the state semifinal’s.

Player of the Year—Kentrell Brothers – Guthrie

Offensive Player of the Year—Alex Christensen – Deer Creek

Defensive Player of the Year—Quincy Johnson – Carl Albert

Lineman of the Year—Kyle Croak – Carl Albert

Coach of the Year—Rafe Watkins – Guthrie


First Team                                                                  Second Team

QB-Kenneth Mayfield – W Hts                                    QB-Ridge Gargasz – ER

RB-Kenton Whittington – Carl Albert                         RB-Derrik Kelly – Guthrie

RB-Devonte Moore – ER                                             RB-Anthony Frazier – SE

WR-Dwight Dobbins – Carl Albert                            WR-Christian Johnson-Ada

WR-Deonte McCully – Guthrie                               WR-Gage Anderson-Noble

TE-Austen Roselius-Carl Albert                                 TE-Payton Patton-Ada

OL-Colin Walker-Carl Albert                                     OL-Pat Elliott-Carl Albert

OL-Bryce Sullivan-Guthrie                                      OL-Andrew Scribner-Ada

C-Anthony Frazier-Carl Albert                                    C-Braden Young-ER

OL-Ross Stracke-Deer Creek                                     OL-Jacob Cardenas-Noble

OL-Caleb Clary-Ada                                                  OL-Paul Kim-Deer Creek


First Team                                                                  Second Team

DL-Randy Armstrong-Ada                                           DL-Shawn Hudson-SE

DL-Felix Scott-Guthrie                                              DL-Ryan Vick-Ada

DL-Brent Bozarth-ER                                                  DL-Tanner Dyer-Ada

DL-Cale Russell-Ada                                                   DL-Ryan Thomas-Noble

LB-Isaiah Byrd-Deer Creek                                         LB-Trey Jones-Noble

LB-Tavin Deloney-SE                                                 LB-Evan Elder-Deer Creek

DB-Marcus Ware-Guthrie                                       DB-Nick Anderson-Ada               

DB-A.J.Wilson-Carl Albert                                        DB-Eric Mahoney-Deer Creek

DB-Ronald Lucas-Ada                                                DB-Nelson Williams-SE

DB-Jay Gogue-SE                                                       DB-Diontee Albert-Ada

DB-Michael Coleman-Deer Creek                              DB-Dylan Abner-ER

DB-Travis Brown-

K-Shawn McLaws-Deer Creek

P-Brady Bowers-Ada

Guthrie Honoralbe Mention:

RB – Alphonso Wilcots

WR – Tim Zupo


Be the first to comment on "Brothers named Player of the Year in 5A-1"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.