Major disaster declaration approved for April storm

OKLAHOMA CITY – Governor Kevin Stitt today announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved the state’s request for disaster assistance for 18 counties, including Logan County, related to severe weather that occurred April 30-May 1.


The approval means federal funding is available to assist municipalities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding.

Disaster assistance is approved for Alfalfa, Atoka, Bryan, Coal, Craig, Kay, Lincoln, Love, Major, Noble, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pittsburg, Pushmataha, Stephens, and Tillman counties.

Damage assessments indicate the storm caused more than $7 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs. Additional counties will be added to the public assistance declaration request at a later date as damages are verified.

Oklahoma awaits word on Governor Stitt’s request for a Federal Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance for 41 counties as a result of flooding and severe weather that occurred from May 7 to June 9. Assessments for those counties identified more than $22 million in damages.


Be the first to comment on "Major disaster declaration approved for April storm"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.