School board recognizes state champions and teachers

Bookmark and Share

The Guthrie Board of Education commemorated the 2011 Class 5A State Championship football team in their regular monthly meeting on Monday evening.

Head Coach Rafe Watkins was joined by the senior members of the team. Watkins talked about each player and thanked the school board and Terry Simpson (Guthrie Superintendent) for their support throughout the 14-0 season.

Simpson and Board President Janna Pierson handed out the proclamation’s commemorating their achievement.

Penny Gooch, the Executive Director of Elementary Education, announced the 1o teachers in the district who each received a $100 gift card from Wal Mart. The retail store donated the $1000 to the district to be used inside the teacher’s classroom.
Simpson thanked store manager Brad Hand for the donation and his support of the school district.

Those receiving the gift cards were Joyce Scribner and Jennifer Hayes (Cotteral), Jessica Bryant (Central), Amy Ingle and Eugene Reaves (Fogarty), Emily Turner, Tammy Adams and Kim Thomas (GUES) and Mary Howard and Shannon Bural (Junior High).

On the business agenda, the board accepted the resignation of Colette Datin from board position No. 6. Related story: Datin resigns school board post; candidates announced for board election
The board approved moving the school board meeting from January 9, 2012 to January 12, 2012.
Approved the contract with Education 2020 for virtual classroom and web administrator. For more follow

The board also approved a new account for the Teachers’ Retirement Contribution Account with F&M Bank along with updating the F&M account for signature authorization as required by the bank.


Be the first to comment on "School board recognizes state champions and teachers"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.