Oklahoma Legislators Prepared to Ratify

Bookmark and Share

A group of 42 Oklahoma legislators have signed on in support of a proposed federal Balanced Budget Amendment. On Tuesday, the group sent a letter to the U.S. congressional sponsors of the proposal and Oklahoma’s congressional delegation. The letter expresses the legislators’ support of the Balanced Budget Amendment and declares the legislators’ intent to work for ratification of the proposal in Oklahoma.

“If the Balanced Budget Amendment is approved by Congress, we are committed to supporting and working for ratification in Oklahoma,” the letter states. “We are confident that if given the opportunity, Oklahoma will be one of the first states to ratify the Balanced Budget Amendment.”

Signers of the letter include several members of House leadership, including House Speaker Kris Steele, Speaker Pro Tem Jeff Hickman and Majority Floor Leader Dan Sullivan. House Rules Committee Chairman Gary Banz also signed the letter. Banz’s committee would likely oversee the development and advancement of the ratification resolution.

Other signers include state Reps. John Bennett, David Brumbaugh, Dennis Casey, Josh Cockroft, Marian Cooksey, David Derby, George Faught, Randy Grau, Sally Kern, Charles Key, Scott Martin, Steve Martin, Mark McCullough, Randy McDaniel, Lewis Moore, Glen Mulready, Jason Murphey, Jason Nelson, Tom Newell, Pat Ownbey, Ron Peters, Phil Richardson, Mike Sanders, Colby Schwartz, Seneca Scott, T.W. Shannon, Randy Terrill, Todd Thomsen, Steve Vaughn, Paul Wesselhoft and Harold Wright.
The letter was also signed by state Sens. Josh Brecheen, Bill Brown, Greg Treat, Jim Halligan, David Holt, Clark Jolley and Steve Russell.

State Representative Jason Murphey
State Capitol Building – Room #437
2300 North Lincoln Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
1(405) 557-7350 (Office)
1(405) 315-5064 (Cell)


Be the first to comment on "Oklahoma Legislators Prepared to Ratify"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.