Logan County commissioners draw opponents for upcoming primary election

There will be a race for two of the four offices in Logan County government that are up for election in 2022. Both races will be for the Board of County Commissioners, and both will see familiar names on the ballot.

Once again in this election cycle involving Logan County, not one Democrat or Libertarian filed for office.

State Senator Chuck Hall earned a second term after being the lone person to file for Senate District 20.

State Representative John Pfeiffer, of District 38, did not draw an opponent and will remain in office for another two-year term.

As expected, three Republicans filed to run for State Representative District 31 to succeed Garry Mize, who did not seek re-election.

Collin Duel, Logan Trainer and Karmin Grider filed their paperwork at the State Capitol. All three have actively been campaigning for the last several weeks. If one of the three candidates do not receive 50% of the vote on June 28, a runoff will be held August 23.

Logan and Payne County District Attorney (District 9), Laura Austin Thomas was the lone candidate to file for office and will be sworn into her third term in January.

“I am grateful for another 4-year term to serve Payne and Logan Counties,” Thomas said in a social media post. “Public safety and victim advocacy remain under attack by the vocal far left who seemingly only care about releasing the career criminal and the violent criminal.”

District Judge Phillip Corley (District 9, Logan and Payne County) and Logan County Associate Judge Louis Duel did not draw an opponent and will remain in office. Both seats are non-partisan.

Logan County Treasurer Sherri Longnecker filed her candidacy paperwork last week, did not draw an opponent and has been elected to her fourth term as Treasurer.

In December 2020, Logan County Assessor Tish Hampton resigned from her position. Her first deputy Wayne Murphey was appointed to the position a month later by the Logan County Board of County Commissioners and is currently filling out the remainder of the term that runs through Decemeber.

Murphey did not file for office. However, his wife, Mary Murphey, filed to be next the assessor. And with no other candidates filing, Mary Murphey, who has worked in the assessor’s office for the last several years, has been elected as the next county assessor.

There will be a June 28 election for District 1 County Commissioner and District 3 County Commissioner. Incumbents Marven Goodman and Monty Piearcy both filed seeking new terms.

In the District 3 race, Piearcy will once again be challenged by John Myers, who ran in 2018. In that election, Piearcy collected 69.10 percent of the vote (1,458 to 652) over Myers.

Piearcy has served as the commissioner for the district since 2005.

In the District 1 commissioner race, Goodman – seeking a third term – will be challenged by former county commissioner Mark Sharpton.

Sharpton served as commissioner for three terms (2003-2015) before Goodman won the 2014 election over Sharpton by 46 votes (958-912). Goodman’s campaign was boosted by then State Representative Jason Murphey.

In 2018, the two squared off again and needed two elections to decide the office. Sharpton won the primary (1,432 to 1,142), but did not receive a majority vote of the three candidate race. In the primary runoff election, Goodman won re-election with 58 percent of the vote (1,356 – 981).

The district one race appears it will be, once again, hotly contested between the two candidates.


Be the first to comment on "Logan County commissioners draw opponents for upcoming primary election"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.