Three candidates file to run for District 2 County Commissioner

Logan County voters within District 2 will head to the polls in June for a Special Primary Election. Three candidates are looking to fill the remaining term following the resignation of Kody Ellis.

The three-day filing period started and ended last week with each candidate filing on the first day, including Charlie Meadows, Floyd Coffman, and Wayne Elder. All three candidates are registered Republicans. No other party affiliation filed for office.

The primary election will be held on June 13 in a winner take all election.

The winner will fill out the remainder of the term which will expire Dec. 31, 2025.

Gov. Kevin Stitt called for the election after Ellis resigned in February.

Ellis issued a statement back on Feb. 15 during the Board of County Commissioners meeting during an open criminal investigation. Related articleCounty Commissioner under investigation announces impending resignation

The resignation was effective February 28 after Guthrie News Page released the preliminary details of the investigation on Feb. 10.

“I just want everybody to know that I will be filing a formal resignation,” Ellis said. “I appreciate everything that everybody has done. I just want to apologize.”

Related articleLogan County Commissioner target of OSBI investigation; AG Office’s now reviewing case


Be the first to comment on "Three candidates file to run for District 2 County Commissioner"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.